Facing Change, P.A.

Mental Health and Substance Abuse Individual, Family and Group Outpatient Counseling
Adult Community Integration Services

Schedule Your Appointment Today!
Phone Icon (877) 831-9764

 


Management & Staff

Facing Change, P.A., invites both current and potential clients to learn more about our mental health experts in Lewiston, Maine. Below many of our top members of staff have composed brief bios about their personal and professional backgrounds.


Nancy Ludwig, LCSW, LADC, Director of Education, CEO, Founder (nludwig@facingchangepa.com)

I opened Facing Change, P.A., 27 years ago for the purpose of providing a safe place for individuals and families to talk. I have expertise in dealing with substance abuse problems and other behavior problems that distract from emotional development. Over the years, I have found that facing change is difficult to do on your own and it helps to have support. Facing Change counselors specialize in assessing current issues, noticing the co-occurrence of substance abuse and mental health factors, and negotiating priority-oriented plans. I will wholeheartedly attend to your right and responsibility to become well.

Master of Social Work, University of Connecticut, 1985
Bachelor of Science, Criminal Justice, Northeastern University, 1978

Nancy Ludwig


Jared Lemieux

Jared Lemieux, M. Ed., CADC, Agency Director, COO
(jlemieux@facingchangepa.com)

My family and the Facing Change family have dedicated their last 25 years of service to improving lives in the local community. As the Director of Facing Change, I look forward to helping this community by insuring that Facing Change provides high-quality, safe, and comfortable care to those in need. I also am excited to create partnerships with other agencies in the area to improve the coordination of care and give people a fighting chance against the troubles they face.

Bachelor of Arts, Economics, Bowdoin College
Master of Education, Management, Springfield College


Virginia Beauchesne, Director of Billing, CFO (vbeauchesne@facingchangepa.com)


I have acted as the backbone of Facing Change by helping to ensure counselors and clients are aware of their benefits and coverages. I work with insurance companies and vendors to keep things moving here at Facing Change, and if you have a question, chances are good I will have the answer.

Virginia Beauchesne


Paul Grazia

Paul Grazia, LCSW, Director of Mental Health Services (pgrazia@facingchangepa.com)


I spent the majority of my career as a case manager and I'm excited to bring my knowledge of Community Intergration Services and Mental Health Counseling to Facing Change. It is very important to me to help people get back on their feet and lead a healthy, productive lifestyle. I take pride in supporting our case managers so they can provide knowledgable helpful and efficient services to our clients.


Dan Pease, LADC, CCS Director of Substance Abuse Services (dpease@facingchangepa.com)

I have made a career of working with clients and counselors in the field of substance abuse counseling.  I am dedicated to insuring professionalism and competence with the staff here at Facing Change and am available and motivated to help clinicians meet their potential, and provide the outstanding service to the clients that they are capable of. Having been a part of Facing Change from the beginning, I know the level of care we need to provide to help this community.

Dan Pease


Brittany Harrington Brittany Harrington, LCPC-C, CADC, MHRT-C (bharrington@facingchangepa.com) 
I view each person as unique and worthy of unconditional acceptance. I use a frame work of making sense of life, loss, desires, commitments, and dealing with the freedom and responsibility that comes with those choices. Counseling is a process towards growth, healing, and self- acceptance. I will challenge you in a caring and empathetic manner and help you set goals for your future. I am here as a tool to help you create and achieve a more fulfilling life. I work with individuals, families, couples, and adolescents. I hold a BA in Criminology from the University of Southern Maine and a MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from the University of Southern Maine as well, and I'm here to help.

James Merrill, LADC, LSW (jmerrill@facingchangepa.com)
I have been with Facing Change since 2011.  Prior to that I was with Tri-County Mental Health Services as a crisis counselor for 10 years and a licensed substance abuse counselor for two years.  My passion is twofold; giving back to those who have substance abuse issues as I once had myself (26 years of sobriety), and for my fellow Brother and Sister Veterans for which I am involved in local and state veteran's causes.  I enjoy playing my guitar, and I even wrote a song called "Peace" which is now in a video on YouTube (jimmerrill'ssongpeace) and is dedicated to those who paid the ultimate price for peace!

Bachelors of Science - Behavioral Sciences 1996
Honorably Retired from the US Air Force 1987
4 Years U.S.A.F. Air Police '64-'68, 16 Years U.S.A.F. Medic/E.M.T '71-'87
Vietnam Service, Da. Nang 1966-67 Member: Vets of Foreign Wars/Am. Legion
Dan Pease

Kimberly Lee

Kimberly Lee, CADC (klee@facingchangepa.com)

After raising my kids and battling my own addicition, I decided to see what I can do to help others know that they can survive and live a better, healthier life. There is hope after addiction and I invite you to come in and help you explore yours. 


Rose Pease, Office Assistant, MHRT-C (rpease@facingchangepa.com) 

Helping others has always been a passion of mine. I decided to change careers so I can help fulfill this desire. Providing helpful service to those with mental illness who are struggling is important to me. I'm eager and excited to meet new people and see if there is anything I can do to help support them in their goals. 

Rose Pease

Lisa Lundstrom Danielle DeFosse-Strout, MSW, MHRT-C (ddefosse@facingchangepa.com)
Danielle is currently running our Community Integration Services.  A former intern at Facing Change, Danielle works within the Facing Change philosophy and helps to connect people with the services and information they need to receive the care they deserve and need with as little added stress as possible.  She is a great asset to clients and their success.


Lisa Worthley, MHRT-C (lworthley@facingchangepa.com)
I am currently an intern from UMA, earning a BS in Chemical Dependency Counseling.  I am interested in working with individuals who are new into the recovery process.  I am in currently in recovery and will use both my education and exerience to help those who are struggling with addiction.
Lisa W.

Deb Sparks Deb Sparks, MHRT-C (dsparks@facingchangepa.com)

I am currently working on my Bachelors in Mental Health and Social Work. Currently I'm fulfilling my internship here at Facing Change , as well as, working as a case manager providing Community Integration Services. I believe all people are individuals and should be treated accordingly. I love helping others access local resources and find the services they need.

Timothy McLaughlin, MHRT-C (tmclaughlin@facingchangepa.com)
I'm excited to join Facing Change to provide Community Integration Services in the Portland area. I have been providing services here for quite some time. I really enjoy motivating people and giving the attention they deserve. It is important to me that people who need our services can be helped in a timely fashion and in a professional manner.



Deborah Batting, MHRT-C (dbatting@facingchangepa.com)




Elaine-Hassten Gifford, MHRT-C (ehassten@facingchangepa.com)
.



Kristen Muscato, MHRT-C (kmuscato@facingchangepa.com)




James Miller, MHRT-C (jmiller@facingchangepa.com)
.